Clinical Advisory Board

Prof Patrick Lyden

MD, FAAN, FANA, FAHA, FESO Committee Chairman

  • Professor of Physiology and Neuroscience, Professor of Neurology, Zilkha Neurogenetics Institute, Keck School of Medicine, USC
  • Former Chair, and founder of Dept. of Neurology, Cedars-Sinai
  • Clinical leader on the pivotal NINDS clinical trial leading to tPA approval
  • Director, Stroke Preclinical Assessment Network (SPAN)
  • 2019 William M. Feinberg Award for Excellence in Clinical Stroke, American Stroke Association
  • Lead Principal Investigator on ZZ Biotech’s Phase 2 stroke trial, RHAPSODY and Phase 3 RHAPSODY 2

Prof Jeffrey L Saver

MD, FAAN, FAHA • Professor and Senior Associate Vice-Chair of Neurology at UC Los Angeles • Director of the UCLA Comprehensive Stroke Center • Served as Principal Investigator of the NIH-NINDS FAST-MAG trial, global Principal Investigator of the SWIFT PRIME trial, and held leadership positions in many other stroke studies • Chair of the American Heart Association Stroke Council

Prof Johanna Fifi,

MD, FAHA • Associate Professor of Neurology, Neurosurgery, and Radiology, The Mount Sinai Hospital • Associate Director of the Cerebrovascular Center and Director of the Endovascular Stroke Program at the Mount Sinai Health System • Investigator in several multi-center stroke clinical trials • Fellow and National Board Member of the Society for Vascular and Interventional Neurology

Prof Cheryl Bushnell

MD, MHS • Vice Chair of Research and Stroke Division Chief in the Department of Neurology, Wake Forest University • Director of the Wake Forest Baptist Stroke Center

• Principal Investigator, Western North Carolina StrokeNet (Regional Coordinating Center)

Prof Enrique C. Leira

MMD, MS, FAAN • Director of the Division of Cerebrovascular Disease and Head of the Comprehensive Stroke Center at the University of Iowa Department of Neurology • Principal Investigator, University of Iowa Regional Coordinating Center for StrokeNet

• Served on Stroke Council, American Stroke Association and Chair, Vascular Neurology Section, American Academy of Neurology